An Ideal Vacation: Manitoba

Hi all!

Today’s Ideal Vacation province is Manitoba.  If you’re new to my blog, the idea is to dedicate an entry to each Canadian province and ask anyone who stumbles across it for suggestions on what to see or do if I were to travel there.  I’ve been to Manitoba, so I can tell you what I liked when I went:

  • There’s a place called “The Forks” in Winnipeg that has a lot of touristy stuff to see….. but what I remember most were the tiny freshly-made donuts they sold in the food court there.  I don’t remember the name of the donut-erie, but they were deeelicious!  (Let me know if you know the name of the place!)
  • There are sand dunes near Brandon, including the “Devil’s Punchbowl”, which are really neat to see, especially if the only sand you’ve ever seen has been on beaches (like me).  The desert-like landscape makes it hard to believe you’re not somewhere more exotic than….. well, Manitoba (forgive me, Manitobans!).
  • Any road going into or out of Winnipeg.  It’s amazing how quickly the landscape goes from prairie flatness to cityscape.  It’s as if someone were playing a huge-scaled game of Monopoly and plunked a city down in the middle of nowhere.  Just ‘cuz.

It’s been a long time since I went, so by all means, tell me what you like or recommend seeing.  If I were to go again, what would you recommend I see or do?

2 thoughts on “An Ideal Vacation: Manitoba

  1. Martha March 14, 2011 / 11:47 pm

    Birds Hill Park – just north of Winnipeg, they have an annual music festival

  2. Martha March 14, 2011 / 11:58 pm

    Birds Hill Park – just north of Winnipeg, they have an annual music festival;
    Leo Mol Sculpture Garden at Assiniboine Park and check out the zoo while you are there;
    Folklorama – 2 week long festival showcasing food and entertainment from about 40 different cultures;
    Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and Winnipeg Ballet are good;
    Winnipeg Beach – more sand dunes but water added;
    Northern Manitoba for awesome fishing if you like that sort of thing.
    There is a new Human Rights Museum in Winnipeg that I would like to see.
    Corydon Ave. restaurants;
    The Bridge Drive In on Osborne St. for ice cream and thick shakes.
    The Morris Stampede almost as good as Calgary.

Leave a Reply

