An Ideal Vacation, Part 1: British Columbia

Today I was thinking about travel again (big surprise!), and came up with an idea.

Wouldn’t it be cool if there was somewhere you could go online to find the best recommended things to see and do, as recommended by people who have lived or travelled there?  Okay, probably there is a site like that, but I wanna make one for me!

Every few days, I’ll start a post indicating a new place.  Then, if you’ve been there and did/saw something interesting, tell me what you liked about it in the comments section.  Hopefully, I’ll end up with a list of must-dos for each province.  I’m starting in Canada, since I haven’t really visited many provinces other than my own, and would like to ask you, my dear readers, to help me choose what I should visit when I eventually make that cross-country trip!

Ideally, this will be a way to learn more about my country from those who have experienced it first-hand, not from over-hyped travel brochures.

Today I will start with a province I know nearly nothing about, except that it hosted the 2010 Winter Olympics.  So, tell me: what are the must-sees and must-dos in the beautiful province of British Columbia?

2 thoughts on “An Ideal Vacation, Part 1: British Columbia

  1. Melanie March 7, 2011 / 8:25 pm

    Laura, BC is my beloved province and I would be more than happy to share some tidbits of info for tourism with you. As I’m from the island, I highly recommend checking out the west coast, taking in a trek either on the West Coast trail or the Juan de Fuca trail as well as spending some time in Tofino/Ucluelet area doing some beach scavenging, surfing, and whatever else might float your boat. Which reminds me kayaking around the Broken Islands there would be some great entertainment. Then I’d check out some of the Gulf Islands. Saltspring has a great summer weekend market which is full of arts and crafts. Vancouver be sure to take in Stanley Park, Kits, Grouse Grind, Granville Market. The Kootenays are stunning and depending on the time of year you go, you can either take in some incredible powder skiing or amazing hiking with alpine scenery and glacier turquoise blue lakes. Be sure to check out Whiteswan hotsprings near Cranbrook, incredible natural hotsprings located beside a river surrounded by mountains, bring candles and a bottle of wine. Enjoy!

    • clio44 March 7, 2011 / 10:47 pm

      wonderful ideas Melanie!! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

