Newcomer

I caught you
and like a triumphant angler
looked around to see if I
was alone in my find

.

your eyes shifted
saw those around you, processed
with a feeling mind
.
there was no wall
there was fear and light
and I wanted to reach out my hand and say,
“Welcome
.
Where are you from? Where are you going?
Have you been here long?”
and I’d offer to help
.
my lips move in silence
as I tell you to be strong
be patient with the changes
not all will seem good
stay friendly if you can
not everyone knows it
good jobs will pay
for work not time
so be wary of those
who ask for both
and always smile at the one
with curious eyes
.
where there’s no wall
just fear and light
reach out your hand and say,
“Welcome”
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2010.

One thought on “Newcomer

Leave a Reply

