A Retrospective

.

.

in retrospect, which was worse?
years of inner torture
or finding its basis in a lie?
I couldn’t believe it
but the confession proved
beyond all doubt
that my future lay ahead without him
.
I guess it wasn’t surprising when,
a year later,
honesty drew me in
(even when it was a warning!)
we walked to the same beat
the pace was comfortable
and I fell into it, but it was not there
so I just fell
.
Well, what could be done next?
a stable impression,
a self-discovering process
where I could help!
and I was a rock
but it was in a hard place
one that never would separate
for me in between
.
So, what now?
feelings of disappointment
from promises I’d made
and naïveté
but appreciation
that nothing worked out
as once hoped
would I have been happy? Not likely
my desire to be everything
would have left me with nothing
so I am grateful
for those who mirror me in that way
and everything is rich
fulfilling
and best of all,
present.
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2009.

Leave a Reply

