The Only Time

.

.

I could say a million times it doesn’t matter to me
but I know it does
I know it always will
I could say that truth be told I can only trust in me
and I know it’s true
I can’t believe in you
but when someone tells you earnestly
and you believe whole-heartedly
it’s hard to go back to the place
where depth extends not past the face
it’s hard to keep in mind that they
have naught to lose and more to gain
by simple ignorance and bliss
how I hate going back this
.
“but it’s only time,” wasted
it’s only time, to blame
I live my time by something else
I’m tired of playing the stupid communication game
.
I could say a million times that I know you’re wrong
that I know it’s fake
but you know it too
and the only way a person’s social worth is measured
is through their friends
you better hope they’re outspoken
but when someone tells you earnestly
and you believe whole-heartedly
that worthy folks have far outgrown
any ones I might have known
it’s hard to keep in mind that they
are just as likely led astray
.
“but it’s only time,” wasted
it’s only time, to blame
I live my time by something else
I’m tired of playing the stupid communication game
.
I wish it weren’t only me
who thinks about this critically
though people who do impress me
will always know, can always rely on me
.
it’s never just time wasted
time is everything we have
I live my time by what it means to me
I live in ways that make me glad
I never want to waste it
but as a consequence
every moment means so much to me
I hold my life so dear to me
it’s always been so clear to me
time is all we can ever hope to have
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2009.

Leave a Reply

