Just One

.
just one cup of water
keeps me alive
like a plant by the ocean
desperate for the sea
I’ve never been ready for me
.
just one radiant smile
keeps me alive
like a swamp-logged cress
desperate for some air
I’ve never needed anywhere
.
just one
will you let me take it with me
just one
will you let me go without
just one
will you let me down
never beneath me
.
just one imperfect love
keeps me alive
like an ostrich baby
jealous of his cousin
I’ve never been what I wasn’t
.
just one
will you let me take it with me
just one
will you let me go without
just one
will you let me down
never beneath me
.
just one lone guitar
keeps me alive
like another song in my head
desperate to get out
I’ll never want to be without
.
my love, my joy
my silence, my noise
my safety, my self
my peace inside
and if you can agree
to let me be me
I just might let you come
inside
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2008.
Leave a Reply

