Midnight on an Empty Highway in an Empty Town

.
it was a dusty gray highway
emptied of passers-by
denied the treatment
of a cityscape
and where it ended
was where I found myself, that night
.
as I got out the car
the wind swirled around me
and lifted the corners
of my frayed shirt
and in the distance
somewhere there’s an exit, right?
.
I jumped up on the ledge
to get a better view
and over the dying hedge
there was nothing new
nothing new
.
my lips taste like blood
my ears are ringing
my heart is hurting my head
is this the start
is this the start to being dead?
.
it was a dusty gray highway
and the moon was blue
just like last month
oh, she’s so clear
I sat down in the middle
and counted the minutes pass, that night
.
grains whipping my salted face
it was so beautiful
I haven’t been since
oh, I’ll never go again
there was nothing new
nothing new
.
my lips taste like blood
my ears are ringing
my heart is hurting my head
is this the start
is this the start to being dead?
.
I’m almost certain
I’m leaving home, again
.
my lips taste like blood
my ears are ringing
my head is hurting my heart
is this the start
is this the start to being dead?
.
or am I beginning again?
.
.
.
.
Copyright L.M. 2008.
Leave a Reply

