It Should Be

I sit here and wonder where I am
feel the mist that isn’t there
but it should be and you know
you could feel it if you tried
I’m sorry I couldn’t shed a tear
a living thing to breathe you
to show you, and blame you
your ringing constant in my ear
singing “bring me Hopeless,
bring me here”

I sit here and hit my head on walls
soaking wet from absent sweat
and I should stay asleep awhile
but all hopes are dashed when I wake up
I’m sorry I couldn’t shed a tear
a breathing sobbing tear, you
you know you, and blame you
your ringing echoes in my ear
singing “bring me Hopeless,
bring me here”

and if I can never fly off
just make sure I can dry off
from the mist that keeps me here

I’m sorry I couldn’t shed a tear
a singular weakness for you
can’t need you, can’t blame you
your ringing taunting in my ear
singing “bring me Hopeless,
bring me here”

I could never dry off
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2008.

2 thoughts on “It Should Be

  1. Little Boy Blue 1985 November 2, 2008 / 2:15 pm

    When you said “poetry” I had to read it . . .

    I’m reading, listening, waiting and knowing . . .

    Its hopelessness with hopefulness I can only hope.

  2. lauramrmak November 2, 2008 / 2:54 pm

    It’s hard sometimes to be okay with not being okay…..
    the only word I can think of to describe how I felt last night was ‘overcome’
    Interestingly, there’s a song by my favourite band (+Live+) that is called that, and it’s also one of the songs that can make me cry. You know how I said I react strongly to disasters? There’s a youtube video of that song with footage from 9/11 (the single came out I think three days after) that just destroys me.. so emotional..

Leave a Reply

