Don’t Leave Me Breathin’

she said she was tired of bein’ the only way out
keepin’ the peace with no doubt
of ever runnin’ away
she said life is fair for the ones who don’t care
and the ones with no fear
of just runnin’ away
and if I told her she was just being sane
she’d have told me she has no one to blame
and if I told her to just go with the flow
she’d say “how did you know
I was slippin’ away?”

oh, tell her to stay
her breathin’ these days is just takin’ a while
oh, tell it her way
“don’t leave me breathin’,” she says
“I’m gone today”

she said she was tired of bein’ alone in a crowd
hearin’ her voices aloud
yellin’ of runnin’ away
she said it’s a shame to be wise beyond your years
and encouraged by peers
to keep runnin’ away
and if I told her she was just being true
she’d have hated me for acting on cue
and if I told her everything’d be okay
she’d scold me from a mile away
and say, “my life’d be perfect for you”

oh, tell her to stay
her breathin’ these days is just takin’ a while
oh, tell it her way
“don’t leave me breathin’,” she says
“not this way”
oh, tell her to stay
her breathin’ these days is just takin’ a while
oh, tell it her way
“don’t leave me breathin’,” she says
“don’t leave me breathin’,” she says
“not today”
please make her stay
.
.
.
.

Copyright L.M. 2008.

Leave a Reply

