Awake

(bluesy type song)

I heard time and time again
“I’ve been alone too long”
I heard time and time again
“I’ve been alone too long,
and I’ll take the first man
that runs into my arms”
“yeah, I’ll take the first man
that runs into my arms”

well I said “listen to me, girl
don’t waste the night awake”
yeah I said “listen to me, girl
don’t waste the night awake”
“it’s time to get your head on straight
and send those boys away”
“yeah it’s time to get your head on straight
and send the boys away”
“listen to me girl
don’t waste your night awake”

I heard time and time again
“it’s never right alone”
I heard time and time again
“it’s never right alone
she said “I need to find a man
that I can call my own”
yeah she said she needs to find a man
that she can call her own

so I said “listen to me, girl
the one you chose won’t stay”
yeah I said “listen to me, girl
the one you chose won’t stay
you don’t know what he even wants
and you give yourself away”
“no, you don’t know even what he wants
and you give it all away”

she said “I think I know what’s best”
and walks out on the stage
she said “I think I know what’s best”
and walks out on the stage
well your confidence will kill you, girl
you’re already in a cage
yeah you don’t know who he is, girl
but you let his arms be your cage
no, you don’t know what you even want
just that you want him to stay
no, girl, you don’t know even what you want
you mustn’t live that way
so I said “listen to me, girl
don’t put your life at stake”
“listen to me, girl
don’t waste your night awake”

       

       

Copyright L.M. 2008. I realized today, January 10th, 2008, that this song actually has the same title as a poem I wrote not even all that long ago. I’ll keep them the same, though, since one’s a poem and the other a song. 🙂

Leave a Reply

